Social Media

# TikTok Launches Restricted Check of New Viewer Historical past Show


TikTok Launches Restricted Check of New Viewer Historical past Show

TikTok has formally launched a restricted take a look at of its new ‘publish view historical past’ possibility, which can allow customers to see who amongst their followers has considered their TikTok clips, if stated viewers opt-in to letting their exercise be tracked.

TikTok Viewer history

As you possibly can see on this instance, shared by social media skilled Matt Navarra, some TikTok customers are actually being notified of the choice, which solely pertains to customers that you simply observe, or who observe you, offering one other measure of perception into your TikTok neighborhood engagement.

The characteristic was first noticed in testing in January this yr.

Some have expressed shock at TikTok launching this as an possibility, given the potential for it inflicting extra angst, if, say, folks you’d reasonably keep away from constantly present up in your considered lists.

However for one, it solely pertains to people who find themselves already in your TikTok neighborhood (so if it’s somebody that you simply’re trying to keep away from, you’ve doubtless already blocked them anyway). Whereas additionally, TikTok truly used to share related information, as a method to extend connections within the app.

TikTok post view history notification

TikTok stopped sending these notifications early final yr, amid varied investigations into its knowledge sharing processes (and a number of other high-profile circumstances of TikTok stalkers). However on condition that it was as soon as an possibility, it’s not an enormous shock to see it come again, albeit in a special kind.

Although what the precise, sensible worth of such could be is debatable

Possibly there’s one thing on this for aspiring influencers, in reaching out to potential collaborators who’ve checked out their stuff, or perhaps it might work for hook-ups, if that’s what you need to use TikTok for.

However very similar to the identical characteristic on LinkedIn, largely, it appears fairly ineffective. I imply, it’s considerably fascinating to know that someone from an organization that you simply’d wish to work for has checked out your profile – but when they did, and so they didn’t really feel compelled to get in contact, does it actually matter?

The worth appears of such much more restricted on TikTok – however once more, perhaps there’s something there by way of potential enterprise connections, and establishing contact with collaborators primarily based on curiosity.

Both method, I can think about lots of people will decide in, although it’ll solely result in extra questions on attain (perhaps they’re not seeing my posts) and friendships (she’s not even trying out my clips).

Additionally, there may be nonetheless the stalker ingredient, which might result in extra potential angst and battle.

TikTok has confirmed that that is in testing, with no plans for a full rollout as but.


Andrew Hutchinson
Content material and Social Media Supervisor

Supply

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button